The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

Year R

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum comprises of seven areas of learning and development.

Three prime areas:

- Communication and language

- Physical Development

- Personal, Social and Emotional Development


Four specific areas:

- Literacy

- Mathematics

- Understanding the World

- Expressive arts and Design

We believe that Early Years education is crucial to a child’s attitude to learning for the rest of his or her life. Children need a holistic educational experience that does not create artificial boundaries between different aspects of their learning. Play, both indoors and out, is an essential and valued part of their development. Children learn best by practical experiences of activities that they enjoy; therefore our learning activities are play-based, active and fun. The curriculum is carefully planned to ensure children develop new skills and areas of knowledge and understanding. The staff assess the children through observation and questioning to ascertain what is the next step in the child’s learning. Our staff are skilled in providing the right balance of challenge and support to take the children forward while maintaining confidence.

 We pride ourselves on knowing each child inside out and adapting the curriculum to the needs of the child. We maintain close relationships with the parent/carers to ensure that we understand the child’s needs as fully as possible. Our main message to the children is that everyone can be a good learner and if they are unable to accomplish a skill not to give up. If they keep trying they can get there.  At Limpsfield we don’t say I can’t – we say I can’t do it YET!

We firmly believe that children learn best when they are happy, safe and secure and remember things when they are ‘engaged’, active and involved.

For more detail of the EYFS curriculum please see the half termly topic web which can be found it the Topic Web section of the Curriculum area of the website.

EYFS Meeting July 2019