Limpsfield C.E. Infant School


The Governing Board of Limpsfield C.E. Infant School is comprised of 14 volunteers from within the school community (staff and parents) and the wider local and Church community, with an interest in the education of the children of Limpsfield.   

The Governing Board’s work focuses on three core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

The Head Teacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the Governing Board.

The Governing Board sets the aims and objectives for the school and policies and targets for achieving those aims and objectives. It monitors and evaluates the progress the school is making towards those aims and objectives and is a source of challenge and support to the Head Teacher.

Almost anyone over 18 years of age can become a governor. Volunteers must demonstrate a willingness to dedicate time to the role, have the capacity to undertake the training necessary to fulfil the role and to visit the school on a regular basis during the school day and to attend meetings of the Governing Board and any Committees or working groups as necessary.


The Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups Act 2006 specifies that all individuals acting as members of the Governing Board of an educational establishment (defined as either an educational establishment which is exclusively or mainly for the provision of full-time education to children, or a maintained nursery school) must undergo a DBS (Disclosure and Barring Service) check.


The fourteen members of the Governing Board are elected or appointed as follows, for a term of 4 years:

2 Parent Governors–elected by the parent body

1 Co-opted Governor–appointed by the Governing Body

1 Local Authority Governor–appointed by the Local Authority

1 Staff Governor-elected by the school staff

7 Foundation Governors–2 of which are appointed by the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education (SDBE) and 5 by the Parochial Church Council (PCC) of St Peter’s.

1 Foundation Governor Ex Officio–The principal officiating officer of the ecclesiastical Parish of St Peter’s, Limpsfield.

1 Head Teacher-Ex Officio


The Governing Board employs a professional Clerk: Mrs Kelly Collett

The Governing Board can be contacted in writing via the clerk:



The Governors of our School are:


Mrs Claire Creed – Chair of Governors    Additional Local Authority Governor
Mr Thomas Briggs  Foundation (PCC) Governor
Mr Julian Hull   Parent Governor
Rev. Helen Cook  Foundation (Ex Officio)
Dr Julia Nash Staff
Mrs Cheryl Hudson   Head Teacher (Ex Officio)

 The nominated Governor for Safeguarding is Mrs Claire Creed.


Governors Register of Interests

Meeting Attendance records for the year 2020-2021